Atheists Say The Darndest Things

Posted on Updated on

Screen Shot 2015-07-05 at 4.21.00 PMI recently had the pleasure of being on Atheistically Speaking, an atheist podcast by Thomas Smith, for the 2nd time! Last time it was a relatively informal discussion of the Kalam Cosmological Argument, and I enjoyed myself. I don’t consider myself anything of an expert on the topic, but I enjoy having a good conversation.

This time, the topic was the horrible arguments used regularly by the atheist community. The conversation was at least as good as the KCA conversation, if not better. I know I enjoyed myself both times.

The conversation was split between 2 episodes (because the conversation was just so amazing!!) and you can find those here:cover170x170

Episode 143 – Atheists Say The Darndest Things with ElijiahT (iTunes)
Episode 144 – Atheists Say The Darndest Things, Part 2 (iTunes)

The terrible atheist arguments that we covered were:
– The Omnipotence Paradox (can God create a burrito so hot that He can’t eat it?)
– We’re both atheists, I just believe in one god less than you.
– THEISM HAS NO EVIDENCE!!
– We should only believe things that are scientifically proven.
– Faith is pretending to know what you don’t know

I like that Thomas searched for the nugget of reasonableness in each of these terrible arguments, and that has actually inspired a series of posts on each of the arguments. I’ll be working on those next. Especially the omnipotence thing… that has apparently inspired a lot of discussion. They’ll likely be put up over at TheologyMix (because that’s where I put my apologetics-related stuff), but I’ll notify the readers here as well.

Let me know what you think!

Also, spoiler alert.
If you’ve never seen the movie Contact, we talk about it a bit in episode 144. But seriously watch that movie. You haven’t seen it? What’s wrong with you?

And yes, Thomas.
I did listen all the way through and I’d love to come on again sometime, hopefully not a year from now!

2 thoughts on “Atheists Say The Darndest Things

    Jerome Danner said:
    July 6, 2015 at 1:23 am

    I will have to go and check out those episodes as soon as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

      ElijiahT responded:
      July 6, 2015 at 9:43 am

      If you’re interested in any of the other podcasts I was a guest on, there’s a list in my About Me section 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

